ILLINOIS TERRORISM TASK FORCE

Minutes of the Special Full Membership Meeting September 14, 2022, 10:00 a.m. Via WebEx

Call to Order

Acting ITTF Chair Jim Page called the meeting to order and thanked everyone for attending. A roll call was conducted of attendees, and it was determined there was a quorum.

Meeting participants via WebEx:

ITTF Member Appointees

Ameren – Adam Proctor

American Public Works Association (APWA) - Michael Millette, Vydas Juskelis

American Water - Bernie Sebold

American Red Cross - Scott Clarke

Associated Fire Fighters of Illinois (AFFI) – Charles Sullivan, Kurt Snow, Jeffrey Maher, Luke Howieson

Aurora University -

Central Management Services (CMS) - Brent Boesdorfer

Cities of Bloomington-Normal - Michael Humer

Cities of Champaign-Urbana – Kent D. Dade

City of Chicago – Natalie Gutierrez

City of Joliet -

City of Naperville - Dan Nelson

City of Peoria – Shawn Sollberger

City of Quincy -

City of Rockford - Tim O'Keefe

City of Springfield – Joshua Stuenkel

Collaborative Health Care Urgency Group (CHUG) - Connie Polke

Cook County Department of Emergency Management and Regional Security (DEMRS) -

DuPage County Office of Homeland Security Emergency Management (OHSEM) - Craig Dieckman

Illinois Association of Chiefs of Police –

Illinois Association of County Engineers – Cliff Frye

Illinois Association of Public Health Administrators (IAPHA) – Amy Fox

Illinois Association of School Boards (IASB) – Zach Messersmith

Illinois Board of Higher Education - Brook Stewart

Illinois Campus Law Enforcement Administrators - Chris Ballard

Illinois Coalition of Community Blood Centers - Lee Milner, Jim Watts

Illinois College of Emergency Physicians – Jason Kegg

Illinois Commerce Commission (ICC) – James Harmening, Eric Lounsberry

Illinois Community College Board (ICCB) – Todd Jorns

Illinois Council of Code Administrators – Kathryn Gruber

Illinois Coroners Association – Jim Allmon

Illinois Department of Agriculture –

Illinois Department of Corrections (IDOC) - Mike Chappell, Brad Baker, Kyle Donjon

Illinois Department of Human Services (IDHS) -

Illinois Department of Innovation & Technology (DoIT) – Jennifer Rominger

Illinois Department of Military Affairs (Illinois National Guard) -

Illinois Department of Natural Resources (IDNR) – Stuart Fraser

Illinois Department of Public Health (IDPH) - Andrea Dos Santos

Illinois Department of Transportation (IDOT) – Gene Felchner

Illinois Department on Aging – Heather Austwick

Illinois Emergency Management Agency (IEMA) –

Illinois Emergency Services Management Association (IESMA) – Michael Fleming

Illinois Environmental Protection Agency (IEPA) -

Illinois Firefighters Association – Terry Ford

Illinois Fire Chiefs Association (IFCA) –

Illinois Fire Service Institute (IFSI) – Jim Keiken

Illinois Health and Hospital Association (IHHA) – Keneatha Johnson

Illinois Law Enforcement Alarm System (ILEAS) – Jim Page, Larry Evans

Illinois Law Enforcement Training and Standards Board (ILETSB) - Eric Arnold, Derek Carle

Illinois Medical Emergency Response Team (IMERT) – Chris Jansen, Mary Connelly, Moses Lee

Illinois Public Health Mutual Aid System – Stephen Melega

Illinois Public Works Mutual Aid Network (IPWMAN) – Elias Koutas, Mark Doerfler, Mark Runyon

Illinois School Psychologists Association – Rosario Pesce, Carrie Emrikson

Illinois Sheriffs' Association – Jim Kaitschuk

Illinois State Board of Elections – Bernadette Matthews, Amy Kelly

Illinois State Police (ISP) – J.W. Price, Chris Trame

Illinois Statewide Interoperability Executive Committee (SIEC) – Matthew Miller, Chris Miller

Lake County Emergency Management Agency – Dan Eder

Logan County Emergency Management Agency – Kendall Caruthers

McHenry County Emergency Management Agency – David Christensen

Metro-East Emergency Management Agency (St. Clair – Madison Counties) – Samantha Bierman Roland

Mid-West Truckers Association – Don Schaefer

Mutual Aid Box Alarm System (MABAS) – Glenn Ericksen

Nicor Gas - Mark Guth

Office of the State Fire Marshal (OSFM) – Fred Schneller

Ogle County Emergency Management Agency -

People's Gas and Northshore Gas Companies –

Quad Cities – Jeff Yerkey

Regional Superintendents of Schools – Shannon Fehrholz, Chris Tennyson

Secretary of State Police (SOS) – Ronald Lewis

Will County Emergency Management Agency – Allison Anderson

Other Participants

Les Albert – OSFM

Julie Beamer-Pfeifer – WIU

Renvsha Brown – IEMA

Matthew Davis - ISP

Bob Evans – IEMA

Michael Hershey – IEMA

David Ibrahim - UIC

Myong-Ae Kim – IEMA

Samantha Kanish – IEMA

Jim Moore – IFSI

Tammy Porter – IEMA

Mark Runyon – IPWMAN

Jason Sanford - IEMA

Nichole Strayer – IEMA

Jeff Yerkey – Rock Island

New Business

Acting ITTF Chair Jim Page called everyone's attention to the Illinois Targeted Prevention Strategy and explained that the tight timeframe to approve and adopt the strategy necessitated today's special meeting.

He then introduced IEMA Director and Homeland Security Advisor Alicia Tate-Nadeau to provide background on the strategy. She explained that Illinois was one of only three states to be selected to put together a plan to be used nationwide. The plan includes measures to prevent radicalization by addressing the key factors that lead to such behavior (through Illinois' Safe2Help program) and a law enforcement component that deals with individuals who have become radicalized – violent extremist groups.

Acting Chair Page asked if anyone had questions or input regarding the strategy. Discussion took place regarding prevention versus response in these situations and agency roles. Page mentioned the possibility of a future working group to examine and coordinate response options.

Motion to approve and adopt the Illinois Targeted Violence Prevention Strategy, K-12 and Higher Education, for submission to the National Governors Association.

Motion to Approve: Mick Humer, Cities of Bloomington-Normal Seconded: Eric Arnold, ILETSB Motion passed.

Upcoming ITTF Meetings

- Council of Chairs Meeting September 28, 2022, at 10 a.m.
- Full ITTF Membership Meeting October 26, 2022, at 10 a.m.

Adjournment

Motion to Adjourn: Michael Millette, APWA Seconded: Kent Dade, Cities of Champaign-Urbana Meeting Adjourned.